Over-regulation, personal life intrusion or excess taxation, I don’t quite know what to call it. Perhaps all three would be appropriate.
I can almost understand the state mandating that I have a fire detector in my house. If a fire occurs, it could affect the neighbors. Flames from my burning abode could start theirs ablaze. I would probably be lost in the fire if it occurred at night, however, because with my hearing deficit I can barely perceive the beeping when the battery is low and I’m standing ten feet away. My neighbors would only be able to save their houses if they smelled the smoke or saw the flames in time. Sorry neighbors.
Yesterday, July 1, was the last day for California residents to comply with the State of California SB 183 (Carbon Monoxide Poisoning Prevention Act of 2010). SB 183 mandates that I have a device similar to a smoke alarm installed in my home to prevent my death in case there is excess carbon monoxide present. This device is only to benefit me, the deaf guy. It is meant to sound an imperceptible electronic signal, ill designed to awaken me from a sound sleep while overcome by carbon monoxide. According to the literature, some 30-40 people in California die each year from carbon monoxide poisoning.
Details: As of July 1, 2011, Carbon Monoxide detectors will be REQUIRED in all houses (1 – 4 units) if they have any of the following:
- Any gas appliances such as a gas stove, gas furnace, gas fireplace, gas water heater, etc.
- A fireplace (even if it only burns wood, pellets, or any other material).
- An attached garage (even if there are no gas appliances in the house). Cars continue to emit CO even after they are shut off.
- ANY rental dwelling that meets the criteria listed above. Yes, this means that if you own a house, condo, or townhouse that you rent to another human being, you are REQUIRED to install Carbon Monoxide detectors.
- As of January 1, 2013, ALL multi-family dwellings including multi-family dwellings that meet the criteria listed above will be required to have Carbon Monoxide detectors. Even those that are not being sold will be required to have them just like smoke detectors.
SB 138 pg 90, 91
The bill would require the State Fire Marshal to charge an appropriate fee to the manufacturer of a carbon monoxide device to cover the costs associated with the approval and listing of carbon monoxide devices. The bill would prohibit the marketing, distribution, or sale of devices unless they and their instructions have been approved and listed by the State Fire Marshal. The bill would require a carbon monoxide device to be installed in a dwelling unit intended for human occupancy, as specified, and would generally provide that a violation of these provisions is an infraction punishable by a maximum fine of $200 for each offense, but the bill would require that a property owner receive a 30-day notice to correct prior to the imposition of the fine. By creating a new crime, this bill would create a state-mandated local program.
As with far too many mandates from government, this bill has little to do with the safety of citizens. It offers almost nothing more than revenue for the overspending idiots in Sacramento. Look at the facts:
- The State Fire Marshall charges manufacturers a fee. (for those less informed, each unit is taxed)
- The State receives revenue for every unit sold within the state via sales tax, business taxes and employee income tax.
- The State mandates that every dwelling has at least one device present and working.
- If a California homeowner or owner of 1-4 dwelling units is not compliant, they are subject to a fine of up to $200 per dwelling unit.
Because some 30-40 stupid people per year leave their gas fired heater on at night during the winter without cracking a window or providing any ventilation, some funding expert in Sacramento found he can mandate that we spend $20-$35 each on another unnecessary device.
Consider me a non-resident of this state just as soon as I can pack.