WHO’S AMERICAN?

I’m beginning to wonder if I’m an American.  Over the past couple of decades, I have heard the expression “the American people believe”, or “overwhelmingly the American people want”, or “Americans agree”, or some such statement.  I must say, more often than not, I don’t believe, want, or agree with what is being put forth, what is supposedly on my behalf, or what they say is for my benefit.

Friday, Joe Biden announced that the American people are completely on board with the administration’s proposed gun control policies.  Oh yeah, I guess this is another example of why I should question my patriotism.  I’m not “on board” either.

In his campaign for “common sense” gun control, Uncle Joe suggested that firing a double barrel shotgun into the air will protect you against an intruder.  Here’s an exact quote from the Vice President.

“Get a double-barreled shotgun.  Have the shells in the 12 gauge shotgun.  And I promise you — as I told my wife —  we live in an area that’s in the woods and somewhat secluded.”   I said, “Jill, if there’s ever a problem, just walk out on the balcony here, walk out and put that double-barrel shotgun and fire two blasts outside the house.  I promise you whoever is coming in is not going to.”  
” You don’t need an AR-15.  It’s harder to aim, it’s harder to use and in fact, you don’t need 30 rounds to protect yourself.  Buy a shotgun.  Buy a shotgun.”

(Typically talking faster than he thinks, Joe didn’t tell her where to “put that double-barrel shotgun” to save herself.)

Joe, perhaps this is the way you want to protect your wife.  Maybe this is the value you put on the lives of your loved ones.  Maybe you can avoid a horrendous fine, perhaps jail time and a criminal record, but the greatest majority of Americans can’t.  In most urban/suburban areas, and even in many rural residential settings, it is against the law to discharge a firearm – no matter what the reason or excuse given to the police or judge.  So, I’m not “on board” with that idea either.

Use your noggin’ Joe.  Consider that the bad guy(s) followed the strictest laws concerning ammunition capacity and only had a revolver, a six shooter if you will.  Your lovely wife would have expended her opportunity for defense over the balcony and probably ended up on her butt.  Meanwhile, the violator(s) could laughingly hold her hostage, perhaps rape her then pillage your home, with six lethal projectiles to spare.

Nope.  I don’t agree with, want, believe, long for, or desire most of the crap that the government tries to shove down my throat while telling others I asked for it.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “WHO’S AMERICAN?”

  1. Celeste Says:

    It’s impressive that you are getting ideas from this post as well
    as from our dialogue made at this place.

    Like

  2. Ashli Says:

    Awesome post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

